It is currently February 16th, 2019, 4:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: March 11th, 2015, 5:19 pm 

Hey I'm Jon, I'm canoe tripper from Ontario but I'm planning my first camping trip to Vancouver Island and it would be great to get some good advise on where to go.

My friend recently moved from Ontario to just outside Victoria and a friend and I are flying out in the middle of August to see him and camp for 5-6 days. We don't mind driving 6-8 hours from Victoria so we'd really like to find somewhere remote and without anyone else around. We have a 4x4 truck, access to a sea kayak and a canoe so we would either like to hike to a camp site, canoe, or maybe take a water taxi.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

PostPosted: March 11th, 2015, 8:10 pm 

I'm no expert on the island but for what you're looking for I would say paddle and hike up to Della Falls.
Another would be Nitinat triangle canoe route.

Search for user Sabi on this site for island information.

PostPosted: March 11th, 2015, 9:52 pm 

Della falls is good, but will have a few people around in August. You could take a water taxi up to the trailhead from the bottom of Great Central lake. I can't remember what the guy charges (I tend to paddle the lake to access the trail). Well worth the views, and theres side trips at the top of the trail that are worth seeing such as Love Lake.

Pretty much anywhere in Strathcona park will have a few people around, but still provide nearly everything you are looking for.

PostPosted: March 11th, 2015, 11:05 pm 

I loved our 5 day family trip to the Broken Group Islands and would go back there again in a heartbeat. Taking the ship in from Port Alberni to Sechart Lodge makes accessing the BGI pretty easy. It's all pretty protected, or, that is to say you can stay in fairly protected water if you choose to. You can also paddle out beyond the outer islands where there's nothing but ocean from there to Japan.