View topic - Redfeather snowshoes?

It is currently March 19th, 2024, 5:13 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Redfeather snowshoes?
PostPosted: September 22nd, 2004, 3:22 pm 

I am new to snowshoeing. I went several times last year, and rented several different snowshoes. I tried MSRs, Atlas' and Redfeathers. These brands seem to be the most readily available for rentals. Of the rentals that I had, I liked the Redfeathers the best. Has anyone had any experience with these?

Is there anything else that I should check out before I buy? I live in Colorado, and will be snowshoeing on trails in the mountains. The snow is often packed closer to the trailheads, but the powder can get deep as you travel. I weigh in around 170#'s.

Thanks for any input!

Post subject:
PostPosted: September 22nd, 2004, 4:29 pm 

I have been eyeballing the redfeather powder shoes. I like the ratcheting strap adjustment. Igloo Ed, had these on his shoes last year and was amazed at the ease of use. Hey Ed, if you are listening, what type of shoes did you have?

BTW, Ed is also from Colorado, you should hook up with him. Nice guy with a lot of crazy experience in the Rockies.

Tony

Post subject:
PostPosted: September 22nd, 2004, 5:41 pm 

There are no hard and fast rules but generally speaking:

traditional snowshoes are the only real viable option in deep loose powder snow. Modern shoes work really well on hardpack trails whether from use or wind and very well in icy conditions.

You doing the right thing by renting/trialing.
cheers, Ted

Post subject:
PostPosted: September 25th, 2004, 1:27 pm 

Hey Tony,