It is currently March 19th, 2024, 12:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: April 3rd, 2021, 7:57 am 

More on the impossibility of booking a campsite in an Ontario park this summer -

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/kitchene ... -1.5973099

PostPosted: April 3rd, 2021, 8:06 am 

I found when I clicked the 'reserve' button right at 7 with everything tee'd up beforehand I got a site. The previous day I had fumbled for a minute or so and they were all gone by 7:02.

Old canoeists never die---they just smell that way.

PostPosted: April 3rd, 2021, 9:15 am 

Speaking as someone with 20 years' IT experience, this is trivially easy to implement for a reasonably experienced programmer. They could put up captchas (those "click all the pictures with traffic lights" or whatever pages), but that's not entirely difficult to circumvent either. I am not really a programmer, but I could probably whip something up to scrape the OP reservations site in less than a day; I know people who could do it in less than an hour. If they think they can prevent this kind of abuse on a technical level, they are sadly mistaken. This is a human problem and it cannot be solved with technological measures.

I know people who do this kind of thing for a living - the airline industry was rife with it before the pandemic. I see it happening now with vaccine appointment slots, too.

The only real way to stop this would be by banning the transfer of a reservation that was booked in the first week or two after a site became available - similar to BC's system.

PostPosted: April 3rd, 2021, 12:15 pm 

In case anyone has any doubts, here is an archived Kijiji post from someone selling campsite reservations, and they openly admit to having secured them with bots. It has been taken down now, presumably due to backlash. Scum of the earth in my opinion...

PostPosted: April 3rd, 2021, 12:30 pm