It is currently March 19th, 2024, 2:33 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: July 18th, 2006, 10:00 am 

We just got back last week from a trip to the Lac Manicouagan impact structure, 300km north of Baie Comeau. All in all, it was a fantastic trip on a big lake that certainly demands respect. The trip was a last minute event planned in only a week here in Riviere-du-Loup. We only had 4 days on the water, and barely explored the E and NE sections of the lake.

The two of us rented a less than stellar canoe for big lakes and tackled the big drive on the highway to Labrador.

I submitted a trip report to the routes section of CCR, it should be up any day now.

In the mean time, I have pictoral highlights of the trip posted here

Dan

Post subject:
PostPosted: July 18th, 2006, 10:44 am 

Nice photos. I'll have to check for that trip report

Would like to see that one of these days, given I'm a geologist by training.

PK

Post subject:
PostPosted: July 18th, 2006, 10:47 am 

Dan,
Nice pictures...
Seems to be definitly a nice destinations, went in the area 3 years ago hiking in the Groulx range... had an incredibles view of the area you paddled...
Lots of beaches for campsites?
The visit of Manic5 Dam should be also planned... if curious vs huge construction and mechanics...

A combo trip...hiking the Groulx and paddle the Manicougan reservoir.... ya... I'll put it on my wish list..
David

Post subject:
PostPosted: July 18th, 2006, 11:08 am 

pknoerr wrote:
Would like to see that one of these days, given I'm a geologist by training.

Although I'm a hydrologist by training myself (or still in training, really), I appreciated the entire islands of impact breccia we camped on. These islands, and also many along the mainland, has plenty of fantastic beaches to camp on.

I was even more surprised to see large (>5m) clasts of carbonates in the breccia, along with some carbonate melt structures.