It is currently June 25th, 2022, 2:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: March 15th, 2022, 9:30 pm 

I'm planning a 4 to 6 day trip with my son-in-law in either late July or early August this year. I would like to do a trip in Maine or elsewhere in the northeast--perhaps the Adirondacks--to coordinate with timing of a family trip to Maine and Massachusetts.

We need something that is not technically challenging. I've been paddling for nearly 60 years including a number of week long canoe camping trips, but my white water skills are weak. He has a little canoe experience doing a river trip in Michigan with me and two other guys. He is athletic, strong, and learned very quickly.

Most of my experience with canoe tripping has been lake and portage in Algonquin and in the Missinabie area and I'd be happy to do that kind of trip if there is anything like that in this region. I'd also be happy with a non-technical river trip with or without portages.

The Moose River Bow trip sounds doable in a write up in the AMC "Quiet Water Canoe Guide to Maine" (1995 ed.) My major concern is that it might be too popular. I'd opt for September, but my son-in-law teaches and has to be back in the classroom in the middle of August.

I've written off the Allagash as it seems likely to be very busy with canoes that time of year.

Any advice would be welcome.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

PostPosted: March 16th, 2022, 7:47 am 

There are quite a few options in the St. Regis Canoe area depending on how many miles you want to paddle. Could also consider doing a section of the North Forest Canoe Trail... it starts in Old Forge, NY... could plan to do as much of that as possible and continue on the next section at your next opportunity.

PostPosted: March 16th, 2022, 8:42 am 

I have found the Adirondacks very busy in your time frame. I stopped going as the paddling in Maine is so much more peaceful though the Daks in Sept after Labor Day are beautiful.