It is currently August 14th, 2020, 10:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: March 22nd, 2004, 4:24 pm 

Just curious but, when you shop for a new tent is it the norm for most people here to buy the high end tent that costs a lot? The reason I ask is this.....

I've been camping for over 30 years now and have never bought a tent worth more than $150.00. I buy my tents from Canadian Tire, WalMart or other like store. I always get a tent with a tub floor and a fly that covers the entire tent. These tents usually last me in the neighbourhood of about six to seven years. I waterproof my tent each spring, use a seam sealer and have yet to see any of my cheap tents fail me in a downpour.

So given that, is there any advantage to buying a high-end tent that I'm not aware of? I have to replace my cheap WalMart Orion tent this year and was curious if I should spend more or just keep on buying the tents that work for me.

Any "Pros" or "Cons" on this subject would be appreciated.

Thanks
Dave

P.S.
The tent is used when camping with the family. When alone or with my regular tripping group, a simple tarp is all we use as a tent. And there isn't anything in the Gear Review section on cheap tents.

Post subject:
PostPosted: March 22nd, 2004, 5:27 pm 
Nothing wrong with a cheap tent as long as:

You don't mind a little extra weight, you're not backpacking 20 miles a day
You don't encounter severe weather ie horizontal rain for days at a time

That said, after you've used a 250-400 dollar "bombproof" tent from Mountain Hardwear, Bibler, and the like, you'll never go back...ease of setup, quality and features not found on cheaper tents do pay for themselves in the long run.

Post subject:
PostPosted: March 22nd, 2004, 5:36 pm