It is currently November 20th, 2019, 7:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 6th, 2016, 7:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 11th, 2002, 7:00 pm
Posts: 5541
Location: Sunny Wasaga Beach
I bought these maps a few years back and they were working fine with Basecamp. I recently took my computer in for repair---hard drive was wrecked--and when I got it back the shortcut on my desktop had been deleted. I tried downloading and installing Basecamp but my topos don't show up. When I click on maps just the global maps show up. Is there a simple step that I'm missing. I have forgotten how I got the topos to show up the first time around. I have the files for the topos backed up on an external drive.

I haven't had a chance to talk to the computer tech yet. It took me a while before I discovered the problem.

Help---please.

_________________

Old canoeists never die---they just smell that way.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 6th, 2016, 7:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 13th, 2014, 11:52 am
Posts: 386
Location: Toronto
Can you open the files through File > Open File > External?

I'm using macOS Sierra

_________________
Instagram:
@tear_knee

Website:
thehappyadventure.com

Friends of Temagami:
friendsoftemagami.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 7th, 2016, 5:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 1st, 2003, 9:40 am
Posts: 223
Location: Toronto,ON
Hi Wotrock, I sympathize with your plight. The way maps are installed for Basecamp or Mapsource involves multiple Windows Registry entries. Look for your installation file (Dvd or ISO file) and re-intall the Ibycus Topo by running IbycusTopo.exe.

I haven't see/heard from Dale in quite a few years so Version 4.0 may be the end of the project.

Fun Fact: In 2007 I complied several of the map portions of Alberta for Dale. Each data set was the equivalent of a traditional printed Topo Map and took about 7 hours of computer processing using high end personal computers, Dale Atkin looked for help from the outdoor/tech community and I was one of many to lend a hand (and a computer).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 8th, 2016, 7:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 11th, 2002, 7:00 pm
Posts: 5541
Location: Sunny Wasaga Beach
Thx, Darl, but I cannot find IbycusTopo.exe. on my disc. I looked in the 'readme' file and it says the same thing, but I must have installed it somehow w/o it the first time around.

_________________

Old canoeists never die---they just smell that way.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 8th, 2016, 11:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: September 1st, 2012, 8:20 am
Posts: 18
Are you trying to load them to the GPS or just view them on the computer?

If just for viewing the maps on your computer you can use
http://www.jeffstopos.com/
for all the same maps.

If trying to load them to GPS its a free download at
http://www.ibycus.com/ibycustopo/
but been many years since I've loaded them on my GPS, so if it's a problem just getting them to show up in the garmin software, I don't remember the procedure. Luckily almost anything you can possibly think of is on youtube. I don't remember it being too difficult.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 13th, 2016, 6:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 11th, 2002, 7:00 pm
Posts: 5541
Location: Sunny Wasaga Beach
I was wrong about not having an Ibycus.exe file---it's just that it was hard to recognize.

Here's what mine looks like:

Attachment:
iby1.jpg
iby1.jpg [ 6.1 KiB | Viewed 3160 times ]


When I click on 'properties', here's what shows:
Attachment:
iby2.jpg
iby2.jpg [ 53.8 KiB | Viewed 3160 times ]


So I click on the colored circular icon and here's what I get:
Attachment:
iby3.jpg
iby3.jpg [ 37.96 KiB | Viewed 3160 times ]




The 'install' complete appears in a matter of seconds> I would have thought it would have taken longer for all those maps.

Anyway, when this is done and I go to Basecamp and click on Maps in the drop-down menu,, I get 'Ibycus topo' and "Ibycus Old Roads 1.0" as possible selections. When I select the topo option I can see a few contour lines from 30,00 ft up, but as I zoom in(down) no more detailed lines appear.

I took it back to the computer tech who said she had trouble installing the maps. Unfortunately, I did not tell her to click on that circular icon. She suspected that my computer had a virus that interfered with the install, so I took it back home and ran the anti-virus and anti-malware programs. Still no luck, though.

I guessing that perhaps Ibycus will not run on Windows 10?

Any further ideas or suggestions? Anything wrong with what I described above?

CT---I have seen Jeff's maps and I have the IBycus installed on my GPS. One advantage of having the topos loaded into Basecamp is that I can edit various tracks/routes. e.g sometimes I forget to reset between outings and I end up with a track with parts that are many kms apart joined by long straight lines.I can do a limited amount of editing in Caltopo but Basecamp has a much better toolset.

_________________

Old canoeists never die---they just smell that way.



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 13th, 2016, 7:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 20th, 2001, 7:00 pm
Posts: 3469
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
You need the image files, they are 3.75gb and should be in the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Ibycus Topo 4.0\img

You have to download the maps via BitTorrent

_________________
"What else could I do? I had no trade so I became a peddler" - Lazarus Greenberg 1915


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 16th, 2016, 5:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 1st, 2003, 9:40 am
Posts: 223
Location: Toronto,ON
FYI, I run Windows 10 and use Ibycus Topos with Basecamp and Mapsource.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ibycus---help
PostPosted: October 16th, 2016, 1:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 11th, 2002, 7:00 pm
Posts: 5541
Location: Sunny Wasaga Beach
Thx D-h. Now i'm really stumped. I was seriously considering going back to the computer tech and asking her to re-install Windows 8. Given that I have the original DVD I'm really puzzled as to what I'm doing wrong, or what I'm not doing. Any idea?

Recped---I have all the files on a dvd that I bought from Dale.

_________________

Old canoeists never die---they just smell that way.



Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group