Canadian Canoe Routes
http://www.myccr.com/phpBB3_PROD/

Garmin Montana: tap to wake = bug, not feature
http://www.myccr.com/phpBB3_PROD/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=46333
Page 1 of 1

Author:  cmkl [ October 9th, 2017, 9:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Garmin Montana: tap to wake = bug, not feature

Does anyone else paddle with a Garmin Montana?

If so did you have any reaction when they changed the 'tap-the-screen-to-wake' to 'squeeze the power button to wake'?

cmkl

Author:  recped [ October 9th, 2017, 10:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Garmin Montana: tap to wake = bug, not feature

Yes!

YES!

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

I bought the Montana as an backup for my old and very reliable 7Cx, it's an insanely heavy, battery hungry brick.

I'm quite worried they are going to mess with my InReach, every time I Sync there seems to be a firmware upgrade and there is no way to refuse it.

Author:  cmkl [ October 10th, 2017, 7:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Garmin Montana: tap to wake = bug, not feature

So are you saying you prefer it now that you have to press the power button to wake the unit from power-saver mode?

Author:  recped [ October 10th, 2017, 11:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Garmin Montana: tap to wake = bug, not feature

cmkl wrote:
So are you saying you prefer it now that you have to press the power button to wake the unit from power-saver mode?


I DO NOT like this change one bit! I keep the unit in my map case, very difficult to press the power button. I also notice that it used to be "press & hold" to power on, now it's just a single press which means the unit turns on very easily when packed which has on several occasions led to a dead unit.

Author:  cmkl [ October 10th, 2017, 3:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Garmin Montana: tap to wake = bug, not feature

I'm with you. I sent them a note via their 'Ideas' page http://www8.garmin.com/contactUs/ideas/ and also on this thread in their support forums. https://forums.garmin.com/forum/into-sports/garmin-connect/feature-requests/49740-montana-600-lock-screen

I'm just incensed that they would slide a serious UI change in a firmware update.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/