It is currently March 28th, 2024, 3:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: April 15th, 2020, 2:15 pm 

Another silly shop experiment, which I know a few folks here enjoy.

I have long been curious about how much weight different canoe outfitting attachments would hold. With shelter-in-shop time, and a variety of attachments in shop stock, a long awaited experiment was in store.

A dozen different attachments, installed different ways; pop riveted, screwed through vinyl, wood and aluminum gunwales, pop riveted through holes drilled in Royalex or glued directly to the RX.

Thousands of pounds of weights suspended over the course of 10 days; I discovered that incremental weights each need to hang for a while to reach their eventual failure point. Some failed quite slowly, most failed quite loudly when hundreds of pounds of weights crashed to the floor.

I have been outfitting canoes for a couple decades now, and like to think I have gotten better at it, but have never seen comparative attachment numbers, even crude as mine are. I was comforted by a few things, learned a few things I will always do, discovered a few things I will never do again and found some surprises.

Wayyyy too long and 100+ photo heavy to repost; the full experiment is over on the CanoeTripping.net DIY board.
(Admins: I hope it is OK to redirect like that. Please let me know if I have overstepped)

Brief as I can make a photo-less summary of that 9 day project; not sure the cut & paste formatting will appear on a CCR post.

Attachments, Failure Weights, How Failed and Suppositions as to why things failed.

Nylon webbing pop riveted through vinyl gunwale, 30lbs
Webbing pulled through 3/16” rivet head

Nylon webbing with fender washer pop riveted through vinyl gunwale, 60 lbs
3/16” Rivet pulled out of vinyl gunwale

Poly webbing pop riveted through vinyl gunwale, 70 lbs
Webbing pulled through 3/16” rivet head

Poly webbing with fender washer pop riveted through vinyl gunwale, 80 lbs