View topic - RESEARCH HELP: Looking for experienced paddlers of ELA

It is currently August 14th, 2020, 12:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: August 14th, 2018, 11:24 am 

Hello all,

I am currently in the research process for my Master's thesis (MA in Geography) and require some help finding participants as well as ideal camping areas in my research site. I am studying the environmental and place-based values of groups in the Experimental Lakes Area of northwestern Ontario, Canada. One of the groups I am focusing on is the outdoor recreationists of the area. However, while I have read about and heard that the region is fantastic for a variety of camping endeavors, I am having trouble finding more than a handful of recent examples. Due to the scope and rationale behind my research process, I am looking only for people that have formed an attachment to the area through an experience. Essentially, if you value a space or specific place in or near the ELA due to its physical characteristics or an emotional experience there then I would like to talk to you to learn what influenced those meanings. The spatial scope of my research extends to areas as far as Dryden and Kenora, including the Winnange Lake Provincial Park and the Eagle Dogtooth Provincial Park.

Bear in mind that this does not mean any comment or message to me is used for my research, this is simply just a brainstorming exercise and outreach request. If you or anyone you know has camped in the ELA, please feel free to message me and tell the story! It is an important place and learning the different values and comparisons between each group could greatly benefit all those involved.

I am also looking for good canoe routes in the area. Any level of difficulty.

If you have not been to the region but know of some resources, please share those as well. Any information will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Corey

PostPosted: August 15th, 2018, 12:48 am