View topic - Dehydrated Chilli/Pasta Sauce - Shelf Life in the Field?

It is currently October 15th, 2019, 11:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: February 2nd, 2013, 11:38 am 

I'm new to dehydrating - having read up on it for a while, I'm ready to start experimenting...

Assuming I get the hang of drying ingredients, I hope to be able to dry entire meals or meal components. I know chilli and pasta sauce can be dehydrated, but I'm wondering about the presence of certain ingredients.

So I have two related questions.

Is it possible to dehydrate for example pasta sauce that has cream or bacon as an ingredient? And then, assuming I can successfully do this, will the sauce keep in the field if vacuum sealed? (Assuming I've kept the sauce in the freezer before the trip, and during the trip I manage to keep the food from getting hot inside the big blue barrel...)

Thanks!

PostPosted: February 2nd, 2013, 12:36 pm 

bimber wrote:
I'm new to dehydrating - having read up on it for a while, I'm ready to start experimenting...

Assuming I get the hang of drying ingredients, I hope to be able to dry entire meals or meal components. I know chilli and pasta sauce can be dehydrated, but I'm wondering about the presence of certain ingredients.

So I have two related questions.

Is it possible to dehydrate for example pasta sauce that has cream or bacon as an ingredient? And then, assuming I can successfully do this, will the sauce keep in the field if vacuum sealed? (Assuming I've kept the sauce in the freezer before the trip, and during the trip I manage to keep the food from getting hot inside the big blue barrel...)!