It is currently October 15th, 2019, 1:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Fish Frying Experts
PostPosted: March 24th, 2014, 4:54 pm 

I fry fillets with whatever oil is at hand. I notice olive oil is
now popular. Is one oil clearly more suited at frying fish in
field conditions than others? Human health is not the interest
I want simply the oil that consistently produces the best golden
fillet.Or as I suspect they are pretty equal .

Post subject: Re: Fish Frying Experts
PostPosted: March 24th, 2014, 5:23 pm 

Coconut Oil!

Has a higher smoke point and stays solid (less chance of container leakage).

When you first put it in the pan you will get a strong waft of coconut aroma but if you can taste it at all when the fish is done it's an improvement.

PostPosted: March 24th, 2014, 6:04 pm 

I'll bite! (get it, ha ha!)

I have been using olive oil exclusively for about 15 years now for my one pot meals and for frying pancakes and fish. I use open fire and white gas stove, and last summer I used an alcohol stove. My fish turns out good as usual with all heat sources. I don't use any breading, I just fry as-is, and sprinkle with Tex-Mex seasoning.

In a fry pan, olive oil will spit and splatter quite a lot, so be aware that it will leave a scent around your cook area, so I recommend not cooking anywhere near your sleeping area with it.

I am guessing its not the best frying oil, but I don't care because I am an olive oil nut, and its what I use. I will say that I have learned that you don't need a lot of heat to fry fish, so if the frypan is really spitting and splattering badly, there is probably too much heat anyway.